Off the wagon

I’ve a confession. About 20 years ago, I became a Sudoku addict, though my puzzle books didn’t call it Sudoko back then. My habit spanned 6 years. It got to the point where I would attempt to make my own puzzles if I couldn’t find one I hadn’t yet done. Last week, bored after completing the LA Times crossword puzzle, I decided to do the Sudoku puzzle I noticed on the page (when did they start running these things?). It took me 4 minutes to complete. Sigh. Since then, I’ve probably started about 40 puzzles and finished 33 of them. Including the LA Times one, I did 7 puzzles yesterday. I’ve done 4 of them this morning.

Damn you Sudoku and damn you Internet.

See, the Internet (another addiction of mine) has all these wonderful Sudoku sites. I guess the game got popular while I wasn’t looking. Not only that, but I found this site that has variations. If there is one thing I don’t need in my life, it’s variations. There are “squiggly” kind that change from day to day. The Monster ones include the letters A, B & C. So now, I’m pretty out pages and pages of puzzles to take with me. Or even worse. I’m doing them online in between bouts of billing, blogging and “work”.

Save me from myself. I know it’s only a matter of time before I blitz through the archives.

