Xbox Live: Dance Dance Revolution Universe

We’ve had this game for months and I just played it for the second time the other day. I don’t know how I feel about it. Music-wise, I kinda want to shoot myself. Not that I’ve unlocked a ton of songs, but 60% of the songs suck, even without the techno remix and 39% of them were good songs that got killed (If you don’t want to cry, don’t listen to the atrocious remix of Somebody to Love. It was obviously done by someone who hates music AND you.). So far, the only good songs that were murdered with a horrible remix is Ozomatli’s “Saturday Night” and Sugarhill Gang’s “Rapper’s Delight”. Then there is the hell that is Chris whoever (just looked it up and his name is Brown), some horrid R&B sounding crap. I believe my legs refused to dance to that shit.

At any rate, first you have to do the Basic mode and if you’ve played DDR before it’s kinda lame. Sometimes. The problem with this DDR is that the arrows don’t seem to hit the beat. So if you’re dancing and hear the downbeat, you want to tap, but noooooooooooo, you have to wait two more beats. Bleeech. Still, it’s easy to pass the Basic mode so you can go into the Master mode.

Now, when you get into the Master mode, you get a lot more songs and it seems you can set the level of difficulty. Problem with this is that even the easy level is kinda tough. My thinking is that if I had one extra leg, 50 less pounds, and zap 20 years off my age, I may be able to do this. But I don’t, so I flip, flop and flap around hopelessly as arrows bypass my valiant efforts.

Whatever. My kids are impressed and that’s all that really matters.

