Parking lot at Griffith Park reopens!

Yesterday’s LA Times an article regarding the parking situation at the Griffith Park Observatory. Seems since they implemented the horridly atrocious shuttle system last year when the place reopened, that attendance fell off by 60%. I’ll have to admit to being one of those people. We use to go to the observatory at least 6 times a year. Just because it was there. The shuttle system killed that for a variety of reasons.

  1. Determining a day and time, meant being unable to go with friends on the spur.
  2. $8 per adult and $4 per child meant that just to get up the hill would cost us $24.
  3. I’d have to sit through that stupid video of with Villaraigosa. I’d rather climb the hill with my teeth than do that again.

Needless to say, I’m very please that the operators have come to their senses. I bet yesterday was a banner day for attendance for the Observatory. Now, if we can just get them to do something about that overpriced and utterly disgusting Wolfgang Puck restaurant that they had to nerve to taint a Douglas Adams title with, then we’d be on to a decent place.

