The pain vs. the gym

Should I stay or should I go…Yesterday, I got crackin’ on the front yard. I had already tried to pull up the grass on one corner. I started that back at the end of September. All this time, I had one corner of clay/dirt just sitting there. I’ve been inspired to get my front yard done, and I have a ton of plants in the backyard I want to bring to the front, so it was time.

The grass in the front yard is is horrid condition. It’s grass and weeds on top, with about 1 – 5 inches of thatch below. All of this is sitting on top of soil that is more pure clay than anything. Logic says that I should have tried to get the soil condition better when we bought the house a year ago. I also should have covered the grass and let this really hot summer kill it. I didn’t do any of that. So it was up to a rake and a tiller.

Front lawn

That’s 20′ x 6′ swath cleared away. It took me about 2 hours (with cigarette breaks and childcare) to get the grass up. I filled up our compost bin and have a tarp full of grass sitting on my driveway now. I spend another 5 hours tilling, clearing huge chunks of clay, amending the soil with gympsum and compost and generally being annoyed at Adrian. Needless to say, I was quite tired at the end of the day. I went to bed at 9:30pm.

I woke up at 5am, in pain. Every muscle on my body, save those in my head hurts. My hands hurt so bad, I can hardly pour the kids milk. My toes hurt from tilling on the slope. My back, which isn’t in the best condition anyway, is in the most pain ever. And I want to go to the gym. I really, really, really want to. Yet my body is saying, “Are you out of your non-pained mind??? Give it rest crazy lady.” Because I was sick with what seemed like the flu all last week, I didn’t go to the gym at all. I missed it and feel like I need to make up for that.

My plan for this morning was to go to the step class (and die), then do half an hour on machines. Come home, clean up and do some billing, then go back to the gym in the evening. What’s more likely to happen is that I’m going to take the kids to the museums (I want to to the California ScienCenter and Ilia wants to go to the Natural History Museum…luckily, they’re next door to each other) and we’ll come home, nap and I’ll start cleaning up the back yard until it gets dark.

2 thoughts on “The pain vs. the gym

  1. Sounds like you already had a workout there. Maybe some stretching and some treadmill time would be the best way to work out some of those kinks.

    Skating’s a good way to work your lower back muscles. I never knew that until I started doing a couple miles a couple times a week.

    Like

  2. Skating is awesome for the lower back, I used to skate all the time, but I can’t now because of my ankle. Once I find a good brace for the boot, I’ll be all over it again.

    I was telling my husband today, that I’d give anything for a jacuzzi. Even if that meant digging a hole for it right that moment.

    The stretching is a good idea. I was thinking of pulling yoga on the OnDemand right now and maybe going to the yoga class at the Y tomorrow.

    Like

Comments are closed.