Love Hewitt hits back

Damn. One, never thought I’d be writing about a celebrity like this and two, never in a million years did it cross my mind that I’d be praising her, but Jennifer Love Hewitt hit back at all the haters. I just saw the headline on MSNBC: Jennifer Love Hewitt: ‘A size 2 is not fat!’. How could I not click?

Apparently, someone posted a photo of Hewitt in a bikini and she’s not svelte enough for them:

Several sites posted the shots, along with some less-than-complimentary comments. TMZ.com, for example, said, β€œWe know what you ate this summer, Love β€” everything!

I should say here, that I think TMZ is probably tops in shallowest, lamest, most hateful and pointless websites ever created, so I’ll not link to them.

Anyway, Hewitt hit back on her own site:

Thursday, November 29, 2007

Blog: About the Hawaii Photos…

This is the last time I will address this subject.

I’ve sat by in silence for a long time now about the way women’s bodies are constantly scrutinized. To set the record straight, I’m not upset for me, but for all of the girls out there that are struggling with their body image.

A size 2 is not fat! Nor will it ever be. And being a size 0 doesn’t make you beautiful.

What I should be doing is celebrating some of the best days of my life and my engagement to the man of my dreams, instead of having to deal with photographers taking invasive pictures from bad angles. I know what I look like, and so do my friends and family. And like all women out there should, I love my body.

To all girls with butts, boobs, hips and a waist, put on a bikini — put it on and stay strong.

Xoxo

JLH

Damn. Can’t fault her with anything there. And she’s 100% right. I think that Love Hewitt has a special privilege to actually speak out on this subject. She’s young(ish) and there are people out there who will listen to her. She also has media access and is on the cover of lots of different kinds of magazines. I think what gets me about all of this is that I’ve seen her in person and I’ve always wanted to feed her. So, to see that someone is calling her fat based on some curves is silly. If they expect skinny people to not to have cellulite, they need to step into the real world, where stick thin women are covered in cellulite and chunky women cavorting on the beach look strong enough to crush coconuts with their knees.

When I was about 13, I stopped being concerned about body image. See, I realized that as a Black female, the media idea of beauty will never extend to me. I see Black women, especially quite a few lost souls here in Los Angeles, trying fit into the idealized white woman body, but it’s not natural. That’s not to say that Black women can’t or shouldn’t be skinny, it’s just that if you have an ass or curves, don’t act like it’s a curse. Celebrate it!

One thought on “Love Hewitt hits back

  1. I just read that today.
    Its fun when I don’t read your blog for a while… there’s cool stuff to catch up on.
    Just don’t snub me.

    Like

Comments are closed.