Windy as hell

Right now, the wind is ahowlin’. I have to use that term because it’s not merely blowing. It’s not very windy. It is literally ahowlin’.

Tonight’s the night I expect a few of my single pane windows to crack. That big huge window in my living room. I would not be shocked to see the 150′ palm tree across the street rocket right through it. Why? Not only because the ahowlin’ wind, but because I think our home insurance laspsed, due to non-payment. I don’t get paid. You don’t get paid. Easy-peasy. Actually, I think tonight was my cut-off. If I can figure out some (legal) way to scrounge up $1200, I’d pay it in a heartbeat. But I can’t. So my luck, being my luck, I’m gonna stay away, listening to the wind ahowlin’ and watch that tree shoot right through my window while my husband watches Alias.

8 thoughts on “Windy as hell

  1. It was crazy windy for a while there! My husband was napping and came out all pissed at me for making a racket – ha! I was just sitting here… glad it calmed down. Hope your window is whole.

    Like

  2. So, wait, let me get this straight, you don’t have ads on your site, you don’t put out a tip jar (so to speak) and you don’t have subscribers (adless). Aren’t those ways to make some money. Not a lot, but If it pulled in $5k a year, would it be worth it? I haven’t gone that route yet. 3 to 5 hits a day for my site doesn’t exactly engenered a come here and read. Unionreview is much better at it then I am. But, come on, you have a voice loads of us WANT to hear. Isn’t that worth maybe looking into it?

    Like

  3. Kat: My window is still there. I heard screaming down the street and just ran out. Seems a neighbors tree fell on his car last night. I don’t know how you manage to miss that when it happens, but whatever.

    Oh union girl…you’re so funny. I look at it this way: The other day, I averaged 171 hits. I got 0 comments. Who’s gonna donate? I usually don’t average that many hits and most people are on the blog for less than 1 minute. I’d need them to out-click on an ad to make it worthwhile.

    Then I look at the flip, other sites that do have donate buttons, I never donate. I’ll click and ad to help out, but I’ve never donated, usually because I don’t have the money. I take that back, I donated to Booman two years ago and I think Pam Spaulding at the same time.

    Like

  4. I’se wishin nothing came a’ tumbling through your window!! A’howlin wind aint no jokes, I dont mess with it after wind almost picked my big @ss up one day..lol

    Like

  5. Damn, 171 hits. And yep, I read you obsessively (nice to know, huh…and a little scary, too). I suppose my 3 to 5 seems pathetic at best, huh? It’s okay, Amtrak strike is looming, so what do I do, I toss away $249 for Amtrak tickets when I KNOW I won’t cross a picket line. I’m all kinds of pathetic!!

    I figure with a donate button, you never know. Maybe there’s a rich person out there just itching to give money away. And you don’t have that donate button for them. So, then they go to FreeRepublic and give a little cash. Crazy people do exist!!

    Like

  6. SB: When I posted this last night, I even thought, “Goodness, I’m whining about some wind and Sha Boogie is stuck in snow!”

    UG: You’re funny.

    Like

  7. And regarding the ads…Um…I’m shallow. I tried posting ads on my blog for a hot minutes and I didn’t like how they looked. I also didn’t like the pro-whatever-I-loathe ads just because of keywords. So, I pulled them. I was going to run the BlogHer ads, but it’s too much trouble with mailing stuff. I have a pile of mail here that was supposed to go out in mid-Nov. They have stamps on them too. I just can’t be bothered with walking all the way to my mailbox. Life would be much easier if my mailman just came into the house and rifled through my desk to find what needs to go out.

    Like

  8. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll kick you a dime…except I kinda need it right now. How about some good Karma? Glad you’re not stuck in OZ right now.

    Like

Comments are closed.