Ernest Debs Regional Park

I think my thighs have stopped protesting now.  Last Wednesday, the entire family headed over to Ernest Debs Park not far from our house.  I’ve been up there twice since we’ve moved here.  Once during the summer just see what was up there and again a few months ago.  There’s no reason not to go to the park except there’s no playground so the kids get out of control at times.

Anyway, there was a break in the rain and since I’m considering training for a marathon, I’m now scoping out places to exercise.  From the satellite map, you can see the paths around the park, so I figured that would be better than driving all the way to Griffith Park.  My logic is that when I get so run-ready, I could easy just jog over to the park.  Of course, I forgot about the ginormous mountain you have to drive up to get to the park area.

While you’re driving up, to your right you have a pretty great view of Alhambra and other Foothill Cities in the distance. To your left, you get a hillside.  A few weeks ago, it was pretty windy and it’s been raining for like the last 3 weeks.  There were several large trees uprooted and laying on their sides.

The park is a nature preserve.  You can see all kinds of wild animals up there and all the sites warn you to be vigilant about coyotes and other wild animals.  The Audubon Society has a center on the lower and decidedly flatter part of the park.  We’re going to go there on Wednesday, so I’ll post on that part of the park later.

At any rate, we parked the car, and started on the path.

This is to your left when you’re heading uphill.  There were 6 uprooted trees and 4 snapped ones.  It must have been really windy up here.

The path is asphalt and goes up a hill.  A steep hill.  That hill was so steep I thought the little boy was going to have a heart attack running up it.  I can honestly say that that was probably the steepest hill I’ve ever walked up.  Anyone who’s lived in the housing developments in suburbs of LA will probably understand how high this hill was.  It was a first gear hill.

Okay…I’m done, but that hill was really, really big.

O-KAY!

To distract myself I ignored the  ragged breath and pounding of my heart and pretend to care about the plants.  I was actually looking out for wild animals, but then I glimpsed this:

Could you imagine a clear day what that would look like?  That’s our underwhelming skyline.  LA Rocks!   In the summer when it’s like 112 degrees on that asphalt and those who haven’t died on the way up look at this, I bet it’s really pretty to see the sun dancing off the glass buildings.  I’ll never know, because ain’t trying to die on a hill in a park in LA.

Oh, I bet you’re wondering why we risked coyotes and rain and potentially fatal heart attacks with no working mobile phones and two toddlers.  I learned there was a lake.  I don’t remember how I found out about the lake, I just heard it was there.  And I had to see it.  Now.

So we climbed and we climbed and we climbed…poor Alton and his little legs were just pumping, but it was like, uh…running uphill for him.  We literally had to pull him along.  Odd, even though I was practically gasping for air, I didn’t break a sweat at all.   The hubby does what he always does and pretends he’s in the same shape he was 20 years ago.  I’ll ignore the wheezing to have a bit part in the charade.

We get to this flatish area and while my husband was eager to go down a hill, I turned to see where the other path lead…

There’s our lake!  From my online reading you can fish there and like all the lakes at parks around LA City, you can fish, but you can’t swim.

The kids took a couple of photos and we started walking around the lake.  Now, clearly it isn’t a big lake, but it is bigger than it appears in these photos and in reality.  The east, south and and west edges lead to big drop offs.  In the southwest corner, there is a little path that takes you to other smaller bumpout.  I wasn’t intersted in risky slipping on mud down 70 ft.

This is on the other side of the lake.  From this side you can see Downtown Los Angeles, Dodger Stadium, Glendale and Pasadena.  That’s on a cloudy, overcast day.  I can only imagine how far you could see on a clear day.

We continued around the lake and as we reached the north side, we found rocks and what looks like pools.

I have no idea why tha’ts purple, but my curiousity got the best of me and I followed this smaller path over near those railings.  Turns out, it zigzags down and there are more pools.  I guess at some point these used to be waterfalls connected to the lake.

Here’s one of the “falls” and a pool.  The pool goes on for another 4 or 5 feet, then drops again.  You cross it by walking on a stone.

So, we walked on up the path to leave the park.

3 thoughts on “Ernest Debs Regional Park

Comments are closed.