Damn skippy!

Taking a break from playing Telephone for the Clinton’s, Greg Sargent at TPM has posted some remarks by Sen. Obama today regarding the Clinton’s crazy insinuation that Obama would be dumb enough to not just share a ticket with them, but as VP no less. Greg posts part of Obama’s speech:

With all due respect, I’ve won twice as many states as Sen. Clinton. I’ve won more of the popular vote than Sen. Clinton. I have more delegates than Sen. Clinton. So, I don’t know how somebody who’s in second place is offering the vice presidency to the person who’s in first place.

But there’s a second point. This is an interesting point — I want you guys to follow me on this. You know Pres. Bill Clinton, back in 1992, when he was being asked about his selection for vice president, he said, “The only criteria, the most important criteria for vice president, is that that person is ready, if I fell out in the first week, that he or she would be ready to be the commander-in-chief.” That was his criteria.

Now, they have been spending the last two, three weeks — you remember that advertisement with the phone call, telling everybody, getting all the generals to say well we’re not sure he’s ready, “I’m ready on day one, he may not be ready yet.”

But I don’t understand. If I’m not ready, how is it that you think I should be such a great vice president? Do you understand that?

See, I was trying to explain to someone the “okey-doke.” Y’all know the okey-doke? It’s when someone’s trying to bamboozle you, when they’re trying to hoodwink you. They are trying to hoodwink you. You can’t say that he’s not ready on day one, unless he’s willing to be your vice president and then he’s ready on day one.

I want everybody to be absolutely clear — I’m not running for vice president, I’m running for president of the United States of America.

I’m running for president of the United States of America. I’m running to be commander-in-chief. And the reason I’m running to be commander-in-chief is because I believe that the most important thing when you answer that phone call at 3 in the morning is: What kind of judgment you have?

I want everybody to be absolutely clear — I’m not running for vice president, I’m running for president of the United States of America. I’m running for president of the United States of America. I’m running to be commander-in-chief. And the reason I’m running to be commander-in-chief is because I believe that the most important thing when you answer that phone call at 3 in the morning is: what kind of judgment you have?

(emphasis mine)

Tell it, Obama!

I have to admit, I was stunned stupid when I first heard the Clinton’s offering Obama the second spot. Just who do they think they are? These are people who really do believe that they’re entitled to have the presidency for a 3rd term.

I have to tell you, the past few weeks of Clintonite chattering was so worth this smackdown.

In fact, it makes me smile even more because all those uninformed people out there saying, “Obama should be happy to be VP.” are also getting a smackdown. How do you look at who’s in the lead and tell them to throw the game, so that someone who feels like they are owed something gets the title? Explain that to me?

6 thoughts on “Damn skippy!

  1. I was just on TPM and saw this comment:

    I am a STRONG Senator Obama supporter (and delegate to the county convention) in a caucus state and in fact Senator Clinton in correct. Delegates elected in the precinct caucus are not required by any rule other than their sense of what is correct to stay with the candidate they supported in the caucus at the county convention. In Iowa the county convention is 15 March. Last week I received a call from the Obama campaign (a real person) making sure I was going to the convention and still supported Senator Obama. Later in the week we received a robo call at our home from the Clinton campaign stating if your are going to vote for Senator Clinton push 1. Do not know where the call would go from there because 1 was not pushed; however, the implication was clear – the Clinton campaign will pursue all delegates until the final vote has been taken.

    Posted by nancydenis

    Why is the Press still making this out to be a horse-race and constantly discounting all of us who have voted? Tomorrow, MS will throw their weight behind Mr. O, do you think we’ll hear then about his strong showing? Or that she’s toast? Or marginalizing her the way they did Huck? Why don’t I think that’s the case?

    Like

  2. First off, that person has been spamming TPM with that comment since Friday.

    Secondly, the only reason, to my mind, the press is playing this as a horserace is ratings/ad revenue. There simply is no logic in breathlessly announcing that “Clinton has momentum” winning states she was expected to win, not mentioning that Obama has come out of TX with more delegates and then dismissing WI and MS as states that Obama was slated to win.

    The only candidate with momentum in this race is Obama. Mathematically speaking, there is no way Clinton could cover the ground to reach him delegate-wise or vote-wise. She would need something like 65% of the delegates in the remaining states just to get withing spitting distance. The media know this. Most of the extrapolations are based on their numbers. Hell, most of the news agencies have been pointing this out since Feb.9th. Still, they saw those numbers for Feb. and probably decided, “If we can get this going until May sweeps, we’ll be golden.”

    Like

  3. hmm, I’m not an avid reader of TPM. I didn’t see anything similar on Crooks and Liars or Digby (but it’s a pain to read her comments).

    And thanks for reminding me that media is run by mega corps who must make as much money as possible, all the time, and to hell with the rest of us.

    Like

  4. off topic: I came to see if you had written anything about the Geraldine Ferraro comments.

    or is it just too obvious to comment on?

    Like

  5. TBM…I can’t seem to write a post about Ferraro’s comments without calling her out her name. In fact, my attempts have been downright hateful.

    Like

Comments are closed.