Garden Roundup: Winter Planting & Plant ID Needed

I spent the past two days cleaning out weeds and pruning dead matter from plants. Today, I finally got around to planting some items. Before listing them, let me tell you how happy I am for organizing my seeds into a gardening folder. Having everything labeled inside its little pouch made it so much easier to find items.  Last week, I planted oregano, tarragon, marjoram and thyme seeds and will plant out more again next week. Today I planted flats of seeds of:

  • shiso
  • chives
  • scallions
  • spinach
  • tomato
  • dill

When I went through the unsorted seeds, I found that I have a lot of flower seeds. I could probably open a business with the sheer number of seeds. I’m considering planting a flower border along the chain-link fence  on the south side of the property. The only thing stopping me is that the house gardeners just killed all the succulent pups I planted there 3 weeks ago.  Jerks.

The volunteer plants in the bed are doing so much better than expected. I tried some of the lettuce today and it was so sweet. Definitely having some for dinner tonight. There is already fruit on 3 of the tomato volunteers. That’s kind of worrying because I don’t want the lettuce and spinach to bolt. I’m still wondering about the identity of the plants below. The plants with the serrated leaves are all over the garden bed. I know I’ve grown this before I just can not remember.

voluterer plant

What is this?

After staring at the pictures for awhile, I notice some slight differences between the two plants. The top plant reminds me of a mint…maybe radish leaves. The bottom plant looks more like mustard greens. I’m sure I planted seeds for both last year.

 

Some kind of green?

Some kind of green?

 

 

Anyway, if you have an idea of what these could be, please tell me. It’s starting to annoy me that I don’t know how to take care of the plants.

